跳至內容

網上獨家禮品優惠

現在去購物

大車

您的購物車是空的

發現

鑽石分級的 5C 標準

1。鑽石切工

儘管鑽石已經存在了數十億年,但直到近代,人類才發現了一種增強鑽石原石美感的方法:通過在鑽石上切割不同的刻面並拋光每個刻面以增加其亮度.

鑽石以其明亮的光芒和反射光線的強度而聞名。鑽石的切割是鑽石分級時要考慮的最重要(也是視覺)方面之一,因為它直接決定了鑽石的火彩、亮度和閃爍度。鑽石的切工經常與鑽石的形狀(圓形、公主方形、祖母綠形、墊形等)相混淆,是指鑽石切割和拋光的程度,無論其最終形狀如何。

「切割」與其他 4C 的區別在於它並不完全由自然決定。鑽石由工匠大師進行切割和拋光,確保每個刻面都拋光至完美的比例和對稱性。切割越精確、計算越科學,鑽石就會變得越美麗、越迷人。鑽石切割大師需要花費數小時的時間進行分析,才能確定切割出最美麗、最有價值的鑽石。切割和拋光過程需要數天的時間,而且至關重要- 即使鑽石在所有其他4C 標準中都獲得了很高的評級,但糟糕的切割或拋光也會使其看起來暗淡無光。

「鑽石之美完美切工的鑽石不僅在於其精緻的美學,還在於它給您帶來的感覺。」Shimansky 創始人兼首席執行官 Yair Shimansky 說。

選擇鑽石時,請查看鑽石證書,其中會說明切工的分級方式。圓形明亮式切割鑽石(最受歡迎的鑽石切割)的分級形式為「優秀」、「非常好」、「良好」、「一般」或「差」。切工太淺的鑽石會將光線從底部“漏出”,如果切割太深,光線將從側面逸出。在具有正確比例和對稱性的理想切割鑽石中,進入鑽石的光線會從鑽石的檯面和冠部返回,從而賦予鑽石更多的火彩、光彩和閃爍。

Shimansky 以多種標誌性鑽石切割而聞名,例如 My Girl 鑽石和 Brilliant 10 鑽石。 Shimansky My Girl 鑽石是世界上第一顆具有菱形檯面的方形切割鑽石。它獨一無二,提供了火彩、光彩和閃爍的完美平衡,並且犧牲了多達一半的原石來打造引人入勝的 My Girl 切工。

2。鑽石顏色

鑽石有不同的顏色深淺,從無色到不同深淺的黃色。儘管大多數鑽石在未經訓練的人眼中看起來是無色的,但許多鑽石都帶有輕微的黃色或棕色色調,這會影響其價值。鑽石越接近無色,就越稀有和珍貴。

白色或無色鑽石按照色標進行分級,從 D(無色)到 Z(濃黃色)。它是一種普遍接受的標準化顏色分級系統,自 20 世紀 50 年代以來一直被接受。此分級是在特殊的受控環境中完成的,因為每種色調之間的差異非常微妙,未經訓練的眼睛通常無法注意到。

除了 D – Z 色標之外,深黃色、粉紅色、綠色和藍色等天然彩色鑽石也不屬於白鑽顏色範圍,極為稀有且珍貴。這些天然彩色鑽石根據其顏色的強度進行分級。

顏色越濃烈、越鮮豔,其價值就越高。值得注意的是,黃色鑽石和天然彩色黃鑽石並不相同。帶有黃色色調的白色鑽石的顏色更加微妙,而彩色黃色鑽石則呈現出各種色調的豐富而鮮豔的黃色。

每顆經過認證的鑽石的顏色等級都記錄在其隨附的GIA、EGL 證書上或西格里。看鑽石時記得向店員索取鑽石證書。

選購彩色珠寶

D:絕對無色。最稀有、最有價值。全球開採的鑽石中只有不到1% 被分級為顏色D。

E – F:也被視為無色,儘管它是只能透過偵測器檢測到的極少量顏色。專家寶石學家。不如 D 稀有,但比 G – H 更有價值。

G – H:接近無色。肉眼看來,這些鑽石看起來清澈無色,儘管它們也含有微小的顏色痕跡。不如 E –F 稀有,但比 I – J 更有價值。

I – J:近無色,略帶黃色。不如 G – H 稀有,但比 K – L 更有價值。

K - L:肉眼可見的淡黃色調。不如 I – J 稀有,但比 M – N 稍有價值。

M – Z:非常淺的黃色色調,易於肉眼識別。鑽石顏色等級中價值最低的。

自然現象的螢光影響著近三分之一的寶石級鑽石。螢光經常被誤解,最簡單地描述為鑽石在暴露於紫外線 (UV) 光時發出柔和顏色的光芒的情況。

我們每天都暴露在紫外線、陽光下、並通過螢光燈泡產生的光。螢光特性是由氮的存在引起的,是一種自然現象,就像顏色一樣,它不是由人為處理寶石原石決定的。

當鑽石具有螢光時,有兩個因素應該考慮需考慮:

顏色: 藍色是最常見的螢光顏色(95%),黃色是第二常見的顏色。帶有藍色螢光的鑽石往往看起來比其分級所顯示的更白。這對買家來說是一件好事,因為鑽石將具有價值更高的鑽石外觀。

但是,帶有黃色螢光的鑽石在暴露於紫外線下時會顯得更黃,這就是這被視為負面影響,因為黃色鑽石的價值低於接近無色的鑽石。因此,這可能意味著帶有黃色螢光的鑽石看起來像是具有低顏色分級的鑽石,儘管其真實的體色實際上是高等級的。

強度: 螢光強度從無、微弱、中等到強、非常強。儘管有些鑽石具有非常強的螢光,即使在常規照明條件下也顯得暗淡或渾濁,但大多數鑽石在用未經訓練的眼睛觀察時並不具有廣泛顯著的螢光外觀。

螢光會影響鑽石的價值,取決於鑽石的顏色和強度。如果存在強烈的黃色螢光,則可能會降低鑽石的價值,而藍色螢光的存在可能會增加顏色分級不高(因此具有淡黃色調)的鑽石的價值。

經GIA 或EGL認證的鑽石在其真品證書上明確註明是否有螢光。如果鑽石沒有螢光,則會標記為“無”,如果存在螢光,則會標記為“微弱”、“中等”、“強”或“非常強”。

因為螢光是一種自然現象,不能孤立地判斷。每顆鑽石都是獨一無二的,因此螢光以獨特的方式對其產生影響。購買鑽石時,請務必查看其獨特的特徵和品質,並確保您了解其證書上的分級。

3。鑽石淨度

鑽石是數十億年前在極端壓力和溫度條件下形成的。幾乎所有鑽石都顯示出微小的“胎記”,稱為內含物,這是鑽石在地球深處形成時自然形成的。它們是大自然的指紋,賦予每顆鑽石獨特的品質。

淨度是指鑽石中是否存在這些天然內含物或缺陷。鑽石的淨度取決於寶石中內含物的大小、數量和性質。內含物是指鑽石本身內部自然存在的缺陷——它們不是人造的,並且被認為是在寶石的結晶過程中形成的。內含物可能以微小白點、黑點或羽毛狀裂紋的形式形成。

瑕疵是指由於切割和拋光過程而在鑽石表面出現的瑕疵。

當鑽石切割師或拋光師缺乏經驗或尚未掌握工藝時,就會出現這種情況。

  • 大多數內含物肉眼是看不見的,因此鑽石需要在10倍放大鏡以確定其清晰度。鑽石越接近完美,在珠寶商的放大鏡下看不到任何內含物,它就越稀有,其價值就越高。

無瑕的鑽石非常稀有,以至於許多珠寶商花了一生的時間來研究它。鑽石產業從未找到完全完美的鑽石。

  • 內含物的位置也會對寶石的價值產生影響。例如,位於鑽石桌面正下方的內含物對鑽石淨度的影響比位於鑽石側面的相同尺寸的內含物更大。

鑽石切割師將盡一切努力將寶石切割成透過鑽石桌面看不到內含物的方式。

雖然內含物對鑽石的價值有負面影響,但它們的存在有兩個正面的面向:

  • 內含物賦予鑽石獨特的特性。鑽石是大自然產生的,就像自然界中的所有事物一樣,瑕疵是常見的,有時甚至是受歡迎的。就像每片雪花都是獨一無二的一樣,地球上沒有兩顆完全相同的鑽石。

內含物有助於體現鑽石的個性,並且通常有助於識別寶石。它們也為科學家和寶石學家提供有關鑽石如何形成的寶貴資訊。

  • 內含物還可以幫助寶石學家區分真鑽石和仿品。將無瑕鑽石與仿鑽石區分開可能很困難,但當存在天然內含物時,就表明了鑽石產地的真實性。

瑕疵是指出現在鑽石表面的瑕疵。鑽石是切割和拋光過程的結果。

4。克拉重量

克拉是寶石的標準重量單位。 1 克拉 = 0.2 克,即 200 毫克。克拉數越高,鑽石越稀有,價值越高。正如貨幣分為更小的單位一樣,一克拉分為 100 分。例如,半克拉的重量為 0.50 克拉 (ct)。四分之一克拉的重量為 0.25 克拉 (ct),依此類推。

尺寸重要嗎?大鑽石在自然界中很少見,因此它們比相同顏色和淨度的小鑽石更有價值。這意味著隨著鑽石克拉大小的增加,鑽石的價格將呈指數級增長。一克拉或更大的鑽石非常稀有,僅佔全球開採鑽石總量的 1%。許多世界上最大的鑽石都是在南非發現的。 「南非出產了一些世界上最大、最有價值和最令人難忘的鑽石,如今仍保持著頂級鑽石生產國的地位,」創始人兼首席執行官 Yair Shimansky 說。

希曼斯基能否回答每個女性心中的問題?

但是,大不一定等於更好。雖然鑽石的大小對價格影響最大,但切割、顏色和淨度會影響鑽石的光澤和美麗。例如,克拉重量大但顏色、切割和淨度等級較低的鑽石可能比克拉重量較低但顏色和淨度出色的鑽石價值更低。

同樣,如果一顆克拉重量相同的兩顆鑽石具有更高的切割、淨度或顏色分級,則其價格可能會相差很大。

選購 Shimansky 珠寶

克拉重量也可以用克來測量

雖然鑽石的克拉重量顯示了其尺寸,但重量和尺寸不應相互混淆:鑽石的尺寸也取決於其切割和形狀。兩顆相同克拉重量的鑽石很可能看起來尺寸不同。必須考慮每顆鑽石的比例(例如檯面和深度百分比)來確定其尺寸。具有寬檯面的淺鑽石可能看起來比具有較深切工和較窄檯面的鑽石大,但它們的克拉重量可能相同。

諸如欖尖形鑽石之類的細長形狀往往會最大化克拉重量,因為它使鑽石看起來比同等重量的傳統圓形鑽石更大。克拉一詞源自於角豆樹的種子。在古代,在天秤和質量單位發明之前,鑽石貿易商將鑽石的重量與角豆樹的種子進行比較。每顆角豆種子的重量均一,等於 0.20 克或 200 毫克,從而決定了鑽石的重量。克拉公制於 1913 年被美國正式採用,其他國家也很快跟進。如今,克拉是一種通用的公制單位,所有國家都遵循完全相同的計量單位。

這意味著當您購買鑽石時,它在世界各地的克拉重量都相同。 Shimansky 提供各種鑽石尺寸,以滿足您所有的珠寶創作需求:從重量超過一克拉的較大鑽石,到微型鑲嵌中發現的最小鑽石,以及介於兩者之間的一切。希曼斯基鑽石的切割是為了最大限度地展現它們的美麗和光芒,而不是強調它們的大小。這意味著所有 Shimansky 鑽石,無論大小,都以同樣的熱情和對細節的關注進行切割和拋光。無論擄獲您芳心的鑽石有多大,您都可以放心,它是經過精心切割和拋光的,並且展現出最大程度的火彩、光彩和閃爍。

選擇正確的克拉重量非常重要

為訂婚戒指選擇鑽石尺寸時,重要的是要考慮佩戴者的無名指。修長的無名指會使鑽石顯得更大,而較短的手指會使鑽石顯得更小。同樣,鑽石的鑲嵌也會影響鑽石尺寸的外觀。精緻的鑲嵌往往會增強鑽石的尺寸和突出度,而較大的鑲嵌可能會使鑽石看起來更小。雖然在選擇鑽石尺寸時考慮這些因素很重要,但必須記住它們僅對鑽石尺寸的外觀產生影響;它們不會以任何方式改變克拉重量。

認證鑽石的克拉重量記錄在 GIA、EGL 或 SGL 隨附的證書上(證明其真實性)。查看鑽石時請記得向店員索取鑽石證書。


GIA 鑽石分級報告將始終顯示克拉重量。

5。信心

與鑽石的切割、顏色、淨度和克拉重量同樣重要的是第 5 個 C – 信心。

購買鑽石是一個特殊的場合,通常需要進行大量的深思熟慮和計劃買方方面。在選擇您的鑽石或鑽石首飾作品時,確信您是透過信譽良好的珠寶商購買的鑽石,並且鑽石的採購符合道德規範,這一點絕對至關重要。

生命中最重要的驅動力是愛。我們的生活充滿了慶祝愛情的美好時刻,例如訂婚、婚禮、週年紀念和生日等等。鑽石不僅具有物理特性,每顆鑽石的核心都是一個故事。

無論是您的伴侶如何締造完美訂婚的故事,還是金婚紀念日的美好回憶,鑽石都在慶祝我們希望永遠持續的特殊時刻。

選擇鑽石時或珠寶創作,選擇一家信譽良好的珠寶商非常重要,珠寶商能夠認識到您的場合的重要性,以及找到俘獲您芳心的鑽石珠寶創作的重要性。

Shimansky 是南非僅有的珠寶商之一直接從南非礦山採購毛坯鑽石,並在內部切割和拋光鑽石。您可以相信,從受道德約束的礦山採購毛坯鑽石到切割和拋光過程的每一步都由業內最優秀的人員處理,以確保您擁有一顆非凡的鑽石-施曼斯基鑽石。

Shimansky 鑽石切割和拋光車間位於 V&A 海濱的鐘樓,毗鄰令人印象深刻的 Shimansky 鑽石陳列室,以及開普敦唯一的專業鑽石博物館——開普敦鑽石博物館。

「我們的內部切割和拋光鑽石在每一步都創造了價值,」Shimansky 創始人兼首席執行官 Yair Shimansky 說。由於鑽石從原石狀態一直到珠寶創作中的最終鑲嵌,都屬於 Shimansky 系列,因此可以控制其切割和拋光的品質以及工作的完整性。

Shimansky 鑽石由美國寶石學院(GIA) 和歐洲寶石實驗室(EGL) 等國際獨立評級實驗室進行評級。此類證書可作為鑽石分級的證明,並且還包含重要信息,例如鑽石的比例、內含物的詳細信息以及有關其拋光、對稱性和螢光的註釋。

購買鑽石時,選擇經過切割和拋光的鑽石非常重要,以最大限度地發揮其光彩潛力。雖然顏色、淨度和克拉重量是由性質決定的,但鑽石切磨師負責以這樣的方式切割鑽石,以使其切工獲得高等級。

任何瑕疵(刻痕和划痕)鑽石切割師不小心造成的鑽石表面的瑕疵會極大地影響鑽石的價值。在Shimansky,擁有豐富經驗和技能的世界級專家團隊全心全意地工作,確保每一顆Shimansky鑽石都經過切割,充分發揮其潛力。

不斷追求完美是為所有Shimansky 珠寶創作設定標準的驅動力。

在 Shimansky,我們了解慶祝人們生活中特殊時刻的重要性。顧客購買的不僅僅是一顆鑽石,他們購買的是一生的火焰,」Shimansky 解釋道。當您踏上尋找最適合您或您所愛的人的鑽石之旅時,您將受到充滿熱情和敬業的Shimansky 專業團隊的指導。

就像每顆鑽石都是獨一無二的一樣,每個人都有自己的獨特之處。他們自己獨特的品味和喜好。 Shimansky 提供種類繁多的鑽石首飾作品:從專利的原創設計(如世界著名的千禧鑽石戒指)到經典的單石鑽石訂婚戒指,總有一種款式和切工能夠俘獲每一顆心。

美麗希曼斯基 (Shimansky) 原創作品只有在佩戴者佩戴時才能真正得到認可。」Yair Shimansky 說。當開始您的鑽石購買之旅時,請始終選擇最符合您需求的珠寶,並且能夠引導您準確找到您想要的東西。

Skip to content

Online Exclusive Gift Offers

Shop Now

Cart

Your cart is empty

Discover

5C's of Diamond Grading

1. Diamond Cut

Although diamonds have been in existence for billions of years, it is only in recent history that man discovered a way in which to intensify a rough diamond’s beauty: By cutting various facets into it and polishing each of those facets to increase its brilliance.

Diamonds are known for their brilliant sparkle and the intensity in which they reflect light. A diamond’s cut is one of the most important (and visual) aspects to consider when grading a diamond, as it directly determines the diamond’s fire, brilliance and scintillation. Often confused with a diamond’s shape (round, princess, emerald, cushion, etc.) the cut of a diamond refers to how well the diamond has been cut and polished, regardless of its final shape.

What differentiates ‘cut’ from the other 4Cs is that it is not entirely determined by nature. A diamond is cut and polished at the hands of a master craftsman who ensures that each facet is polished to perfect proportion and symmetry. The more precise and scientifically calculated the cut, the more beautiful and captivating the diamond becomes. It takes a master diamond cutter hours of analysis before the cut that will yield the most beautiful and valuable diamond, is determined. The cutting and polishing process takes several days and is vitally important – even if a diamond is highly graded in all of the other 4Cs, a bad cut or polish will leave it looking dull and lacklustre.

“The beauty of a perfectly cut diamond is not just in its exquisite aesthetics, but in the way it makes you feel,” says Yair Shimansky, founder and CEO of Shimansky.

When choosing a diamond, have a look at the diamond certificate, which will state how the cut has been graded. A round brilliant cut diamond (the most popular diamond cut) is graded in the form of Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor. A diamond that is cut too shallow will “leak” light out the bottom and if the cut is too deep, light will escape from the sides. In an ideal cut diamond with the correct proportions and symmetry, the light that enters the diamond is returned out of the table and crown of the diamond, giving it more fire, brilliance and scintillation.

Shimansky is renowned for several signature diamond cuts, such as the My Girl diamond and the Brilliant 10 diamond. The Shimansky My Girl diamond is the world’s first square cut diamond with a diamond-shaped table. One-of-a-kind, it offers the perfect balance of fire, brilliance and scintillation, and as much as half the rough stone is sacrificed to create the spellbinding My Girl cut.

2. Diamond Colour

Diamonds come in different shades of colour and can range from colourless to varying shades of yellow. Even though most diamonds appear colourless to an untrained eye, many have slight tones of yellow or brown that affect its value. The closer a diamond is to colourless, the more rare and valuable it is.

White or colourless diamonds are graded on a colour scale from D (colourless) to Z (heavily tinted yellow). A universally-accepted and standardised colour grading system, it has been accepted since the 1950s. This grading is done in a special, controlled environment because the difference between each shade is very subtle and often not noticeable to the untrained eye.

In addition to the D – Z colour scale, natural fancy colour diamonds such as deep yellows, pinks, greens and blues lie outside the white diamond colour range and are extremely rare and valuable. These natural fancy colour diamonds are graded according to the intensity of their colour.

The more intense and vibrant their shade, the higher their value. It’s important to note that a diamond with a yellow tint and a natural fancy colour yellow diamond are not the same. A white diamond with a yellow tint is subtler in colour, while a fancy colour yellow diamond comes in various shades of rich and vibrant yellow.

Each certified diamond’s colour grade is recorded on its accompanying certificate from the GIA, EGL or SGL. Remember to ask the store assistant for the diamond certificate when viewing a diamond.

Shop Fancy Colour Jewellery

D: Absolutely colourless. The most rare and valuable. Less than 1% of diamonds mined worldwide are graded as colour D.

E – F: Also considered colourless, even though it is a minimal trace of colour that can only be detected by an expert gemmologist. Less rare than D, and more valuable than G – H.

G – H: Near colourless.  To the naked eye these diamonds appear clear and colourless, although they also contain minute traces of colour. Less rare than E –F, but more valuable than I – J.

I – J: Near colourless with a faint tint of yellow. Less rare than G – H, but more valuable than K – L.

K  - L: A faint yellow tint that is visible to the eye.  Less rare than I – J, but slightly more valuable than M – N.

M – Z: A very light yellow tint, easily identified by the eye.  Least valuable of the diamond colour grade.

Fluorescence in a natural phenomenon affecting almost a third of all gem-quality diamonds. Often misunderstood, fluorescence is most simply described as a circumstance in which a diamond emits a soft-coloured glow when it is exposed to ultraviolet (UV) light.

We are exposed to UV light every day, through sunlight, and through the light produced by fluorescent lightbulbs. The characteristic of fluorescence is caused by the presence of Nitrogen and is a natural phenomenon – like colour, it is not determined by man’s manipulation of the rough gem.

When a diamond has fluorescence, there are two factors that should be considered:

Colour: Blue is the most common colour of fluorescence (95%), with yellow being the second most common colour. Diamonds with blue fluorescence tend to appear whiter than their grading suggests. This is a good thing for the buyer, as the diamond will have the appearance of a diamond that is worth much more.

However, diamonds with yellow fluorescence appear more yellow in colour when exposed to UV light, which is seen as a negative aspect, as diamonds with a yellow tint are worth less than diamonds that are near colourless. It could thus mean that a diamond with yellow fluorescence looks like a diamond that has a low colour grading, even though its true body colour is actually of a high grade.

Strength: The strength of fluorescence varies from none, faint and medium to strong and very strong. Though some diamonds have very strong fluorescence and appear dull or cloudy even in regular lighting conditions, the majority of diamonds do not have a widely notable fluorescent appearance when looked at with an untrained eye.  

Fluorescence affects the value of a diamond depending on its colour and strength. If there is a strong yellow fluorescence present, it may decrease the value of the diamond, while the presence of blue fluorescence may increase the value of a diamond that does not have a high colour grading (and thus has a yellowish tint).

Diamonds certified by the GIA or EGL clearly state on their Certificates of Authenticity whether there is a presence of fluorescence. If the diamond does not have fluorescence, it will be marked as “none,” and if fluorescence is present, it will be noted as either “faint,” “medium,” “strong” or “very strong.”

Because fluorescence is a natural phenomenon, it cannot be judged in isolation. Each diamond is unique, and fluorescence thus affects it in a unique way. When shopping for a diamond, always be sure to look at its unique characteristics and qualities and make sure you understand the grading on its certificate.

3. Diamond Clarity

Diamonds were formed billions of years ago, under conditions of extreme pressure and temperature. Almost all diamonds display tiny ‘birthmarks’, called inclusions, which occurred naturally when the diamond was formed deep within the earth. They are nature’s fingerprint and give each diamond its unique character. 

Clarity refers to the presence of these natural inclusions or imperfections found in a diamond. The clarity of a diamond is determined by the size, number and nature of the inclusions present in the stone. Inclusions refer to imperfections that occur naturally inside the diamond itself – they are not man-made, and are believed to have formed during the crystallization process of the gem. Inclusions may take shape in the form of tiny white points, dark dots or feathery cracks.

Blemishes refer to imperfections that occur on the surface of the diamond as a result of the cutting and polishing process.

These can come about when a diamond cutter or polisher is not experienced, or has not yet mastered the craft.

  • Most inclusions are not visible to the naked eye, so diamonds are examined under a 10x magnifying loupe to determine their clarity. The closer a diamond is to flawless with no inclusions visible under a jeweller's loupe, the more rare it is and the greater its value.

Flawless diamonds are so rare, that many jewelers spend a lifetime in the diamond industry without ever finding a completely flawless diamond.

  • The position of the inclusion can also have an impact on the gem’s value. An inclusion situated directly below the diamond’s table, for example, will have a larger impact on the diamond’s clarity than an inclusion of the same size situated off the side of the diamond.

A diamond cutter will make every effort to cut the stone in such a way that the inclusion is not visible through the table of the diamond. 

Though inclusions have a negative effect on the value of diamonds, there are two positive aspects of their existence:

  • Inclusions give diamonds their unique characteristics. Diamonds are produced by nature, and like all things in nature, imperfections are common, and sometimes even welcomed. Just like each snowflake is unique, there are no two diamonds on Earth that are exactly the same.

Inclusions contribute to a diamond’s individuality, and are often helpful in identifying a gem. They also provide scientists and gemologists with valuable information about how a diamond was formed.

  • Inclusions can also help a gemologist to separate a real diamond from an imitation. It can be difficult to separate a flawless diamond from an imitation diamond, but when natural inclusions are present, it indicates the authenticity of the stone’s origin.

Blemishes refer to imperfections that occur on the surface of the diamond as a result of the cutting and polishing process.

4. Carat Weight

Carat is the standard unit of weight used for gemstones. 1 carat = 0.2 grams, or 200 milligrams. The higher the carat, the more rare and more valuable the diamond. Just as currency is divided into smaller units, a carat is divided into 100 points. For example, half of a carat will weigh 0.50 carat (ct). A quarter of a carat will weigh 0.25 carats (ct), and so on.

Does size matter? Large diamonds are rarely found in nature so they are more valuable than smaller diamonds of the same colour and clarity. This means that the price of a diamond will increase exponentially as the carat size of the diamond increases. Diamonds of one carat or larger are so rare that they represent only 1% of all the diamonds mined worldwide. Many of the world’s largest diamonds were found in South Africa. “South Africa has produced some of the world’s largest, most valuable and memorable diamonds and today maintains its position as a top diamond producer,” says Yair Shimansky, Founder and CEO.

Can Shimansky answer the question on every women's mind?

However, big does not necessarily equal better. While the size of a diamond has the greatest influence on the price, the cut, colour and clarity will affect a diamond’s brilliance and beauty. A diamond with a large carat weight, but with a low colour, cut and clarity grading could, for example, be more less valuable than a diamond of lower carat weight, but with exceptional colour and clarity.

Similarly, two diamonds of equal carat weight could vary significantly in price if one were to have a higher cut, clarity or colour grading.

Shop Shimansky Jewellery

Carat weight can also be measured in grams

Though the carat weight of a diamond gives an indication of its size, weight and size should not be confused with one another: The size of a diamond is also dependent on its cut and shape. It is quite possible for two diamonds of the same carat weight to appear to be different sizes. Each individual diamond’s proportions (such as the table and depth percentages) must be taken into account to determine its size. A shallow diamond with a wide table may appear larger than a diamond with a deeper cut, and a narrower table, yet they may have an equal carat weight.

An elongated shape such as a Marquise tends to maximise carat weight, as it makes the stone appear larger than that of a traditional round shape of a diamond of equal weight. The term carat originates from the seed of the carob tree. In ancient times, before scales and units of mass were invented, diamond traders compared the weight of a diamond to the seeds of the carob tree. Each carob seed had a uniform weight, equal to 0.20 grams or 200 milligrams and hence determined the weight of the diamond. The carat metric was officially adopted by the United States in 1913, with other nations soon following suit. Today, the carat is a universal metric measure, with all nations adhering to the exact same measurement.

That means that when you purchase a diamond, it will have the same carat weight everywhere in the world. Shimansky offers a wide variety of diamond sizes to meet all your jewellery creation needs: From larger diamonds weighing over a carat, to the smallest of diamonds found in a micro setting, and everything in between. Shimansky diamonds are cut to maximise their beauty and their brilliance – not to emphasize their size. That means that all Shimansky diamonds, regardless of their size, are cut and polished with the same passion and attention to detail. Whatever the size of the diamond that captures your heart, you can rest assured that it was cut and polished with the utmost of care, and that it displays the maximum amount of fire, brilliance and scintillation.

Selecting the correct carat weight is very important

When selecting a diamond size for an engagement ring, it is important to take the wearer’s ring finger into consideration. A long, slender ring finger will make a diamond appear larger, while a shorter finger could make it appear smaller. Similarly, the diamond’s setting can also have an impact on the appearance of the diamond’s size. A delicate setting tends to enhance a diamond’s size and prominence, while a bulkier setting could make the diamond appear smaller. Whilst it is important to take these factors into consideration when selecting a diamond size, one must remember that they only have an effect on the appearance of the size of the diamond; they do not alter the carat weight in any way.

The carat weight of a certified diamond is recorded on its accompanying certificate from the GIA, EGL or SGL (proving its authenticity). Remember to ask the store assistant for the diamond certificate when viewing a diamond.


A GIA DIAMOND GRADING REPORT WILL ALWAYS SHOW CARAT WEIGHT.

5. Confidence

Equally important to the cut, colour, clarity and carat weight of a diamond is the 5th C – Confidence.

Purchasing a diamond is a special occasion, one that usually involves a lot of deliberation and planning on the buyer’s side. Confidence in knowing that you are buying your diamond through a reputable jeweller and that the diamond was sourced ethically is absolutely vital when selecting your diamond or diamond jewellery creation.

The most important driver in life, is love. Our lives are filled with beautiful moments in which we celebrate our love, such as engagements, weddings, anniversaries and birthdays, to name but a few. There is so much more to a diamond than its physical properties – and at the heart of every diamond is a story.

Whether it is the story of how your partner created the perfect engagement, or the beautiful memory of a golden wedding anniversary, a diamond celebrates the special moments that we wish could last forever.

When selecting your diamond or jewellery creation, it is important to choose a reputable jeweller that recognises the magnitude of your occasion, and the importance of finding the diamond jewellery creation that captures your heart.

Shimansky is one of the only jewellers in South Africa to source rough diamonds direct from the South African mines, and to cut and polish their diamonds in-house. You can trust that every step, from the sourcing of rough diamonds from ethically-bound mines to the cutting and polishing process is handled by the best in the industry to ensure that you own a remarkable diamond – a Shimansky diamond.

The Shimansky diamond cutting and polishing workshop is located in the Clock Tower at the V&A Waterfront, alongside the impressive Shimansky diamond showroom, and Cape Town’s only dedicated diamond museum, The Cape Town Diamond Museum.

“Cutting and polishing our diamonds in-house creates value every step of the way,” says Shimansky founder and CEO, Yair Shimansky. Because the diamond stays within the Shimansky family from its rough state, all the way to its final setting in a jewellery creation, it is possible to control the quality of its cut and polish, as well as the integrity in which the work is done.

Shimansky diamonds are graded by international and independent grading laboratories such as the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and the European Gemological Laboratories (EGL). Such certificates serve as proof of the diamond’s  grading, and also contains vital information such as the proportions of the diamond, details of its inclusions, and notes on its polish, symmetry and fluorescence.

When purchasing a diamond, it is important to select one that has been cut and polished to maximise its potential in terms of brilliance. Though colour, clarity and carat weight is determined by nature, it is the diamond cutter who is responsible for cutting the diamond in such a way that it yields a high grading for its cut.

Any blemishes (nicks and scratches on the surface of the diamond) accidently caused by the diamond cutter will affect the diamond’s value greatly. At Shimansky, a team of world-class experts with a wealth of experience and skills work with the utmost concentration and dedication to ensure that each and every Shimansky diamond is cut to realise its full potential.

The continuous pursuit of perfection is the driver that sets the standard for all Shimansky jewellery creations.

At Shimansky, we understand the importance of celebrating the special moments in people’s lives. The customer is buying more than just a diamond – they are buying a moment of fire that will stay with them for the rest of their lives,” Shimansky explains. When embarking on the journey of finding the diamond that is perfect for you or your loved one, you’ll be guided by a team of passionate and dedicated Shimansky professionals.

Just like every diamond is unique, each person has their own unique taste and preferences. Shimansky offers a wide variety of diamond jewellery creations: From patented original designs such as the world-renowned Millennium Diamond Ring, to classic Solitaire Diamond Engagement Rings, there is a style and cut to capture every heart.

The beauty of a Shimansky original is only truly recognised when it is worn by the one it was meant for,” says Yair Shimansky. When embarking on your diamond-buying journey, always select a jewellery who has your best interest at heart and who will guide you in finding exactly what you are looking for.